I'm relatively new to blender, I've made this rover and I'm stuck when it comes to textures, The goal is to have a finish similar to the images below, Would love some help!

4 Likes

Looks super sick Joel. Can you post some reference images of the type of texture you are going for?

1 Like

Yeah sure! something like this

3 Likes

So what exactly are you trying to do? Are you talking about the edgewear on it or scratches? Or the panels themselves etc?

1 Like

Well my model doesn’t have alot of panels, Basically yeah the edgewear and scratches, Basically a look that it’s lasted a while but not too long, Even if the overall edgewear isn’t there it’s fine, But I really would like to get that kind of surface texture

2 Likes

Here you go this node setup can be used for edgewear and scratches. Make sure to be in cycles in rendered viewport shading mode as the bevel node only works there. Also for the scratches they will only be elongated on the y and z since those are the only ones scaled. If you need elongated scratches in all dimensions you’ll need to do a different setup, just let me know. Give this a shot though and you can mess around with the different settings
Scratches.blend (1002.6 KB)

1 Like

Thanks alot! I’ll mess around with it, will give you some feedback soon

2 Likes

Alright I just noticed one thing, I don’t know if something is wrong on my end or not but, The textures render in CPU mode, but not on GPU mode, in the viewport or a rendered image, Any idea what the issue is?

2 Likes

Are you still in Cycles with GPU render? Could you try to go to a brand new file and go to file → append and append all your objects to a new scene and try there. If it still doesn’t work, if you can share your .blend will take a look

1 Like

Yep I tried all of that, It’s the same blend file you attached but I will send it anyway
Scratches.blend (1002.6 KB)

2 Likes

I thought it was on your file it didn’t work. Try selecting / deselecting the “Open Shading Language” box