Realtime Character (Mads Mikkelsen as The Witcher)

I’m attempting to make a realtime character, which I’ve never done before, in the likeness of Mads Mikkelsen and turn him into The Witcher, because that was one of the theories/wishes many fans had before Henry Cavil taking the role.

I then looked to find some art that I remember seeing a few years back and wouldn’t you know it someone went ahead and made a 3D Mads as Witcher a few months back… and I thought I’d be the first… Oh well, since this is what I chose to do, I’m sticking with it, if we only did art that no one has ever done, there wouldn’t be much to do!

I’ll slowly work on this trying to learn as much as I can, going back and forth between anatomy studies as they become necessary, and other studies related to the realtime process.

Finally my goal is to have an anatomically correct model, with 100% likeness, fully armored, perfect retopology (ugh) and UV maps (ugh again) rigged to Epic Skeleton and hopefully animated even if it’s just a simple movement!

So buckle up buckaroos this is gonna be a long and wild ride!

Step 1. Gather References check!
Step 2. Base Mesh and Base Face Likeness check!
Step 3. Don’t lose hope and give up already… working on it!

I’m also recording most of my progress so I’ll be uploading some timelapses or walkthroughs on my YouTube Channel at some point.

(EDIT I already had a base mesh, I didn’t build it all from scratch. I just adjusted it and started working on the base face)

Step 3a: Altering the base mesh proportions and fixing the pose to an A pose. check!

Simply using a mask and rotating/moving stuff around. Altering the basic mesh to the rough body shape I want by using a move brush.

The reason I chose to use a base mesh was because I already know how to make a decent looking human but working on the proportions from simple shapes or even tracing over a reference would add more time to a really long project.