Cartoon Character

I’m trying to model and rig this character, Kid Bean. As a little background Kid Bean and Chick Pea are a couple of stuffed characters that were put out about 10 years ago by the Hanover Brands Company. Hanover Brands makes canned vegetables and such and if you sent in some amount of labels from their products they would send you these stuffed characters. My wife thought this would be nice since our grandson was little then. My grandson and I would act out skits and do voices. Kid Bean and Chick Pea were a real hit.

Anyway, I have had in mind to model and animate these characters for a long time and have worked on them a lot. The only way I really learn well is to have an end goal in mind and learn what I have to learn to get there. Which means I learn by making mistakes. Lot's of mistakes.

I have been working with Blender for a little over 2 years. (My grandson showed me the program). I have taken several online courses and studied tons of YouTube videos. Alex, your Ultimate Blender 3D Character Creation and Animation course is the best course I've taken. To be fair, maybe I had progressed enough that I was ready to learn the things you taught but I learned a lot.

So, here I am ready to model and rig Kid Bean again. I'll do a better job this time, maybe. I'll accept any criticism anybody wants to offer. I'm not saying I'll do what's suggested but I promise I'll consider it seriously. I need all the help I can get.

I posted a screenshot of the initial modeling of the head. I know it's ugly but that's where I'm starting.

This is awesome man! Well done so far and love that you are bringing this guy to life! Can’t wait to see it completed and animated!

OK, a little bit of progress.

A little more progress. The mouth and tongue took me a while.

Kid Bean is taking shape. Rigging is next and rigging is tough. So, we’ll see.